Breadcrumb
Holy Cross Chapel in Blieskastel
The Holy Cross Chapel – an important pilgrimage destination in the Diocese of Speyer
The Holy Cross pilgrimage chapel stands on a hill above the Bliestal valley, known as the Han. It was built in 1682/83 by the Barons Carl Caspar and Damian Adolph von der Leyen, who ruled in Koblenz. The von der Leyen coat of arms still adorns the portal today. A crucifixion group, the Stations of the Cross and a Holy Sepulchre were erected on the forecourt. A colonnade formed the conclusion of the entire complex. A particular attraction at that time was a relic of the cross in the Holy Cross Chapel. Today, Blieskastel is an important place of pilgrimage in the Diocese of Speyer because of the Madonna of the Arrows, "Our Lady with the Arrows". According to the monastic tradition of Gräfinthal, it is reported that in the Middle Ages, soldiers attacked a hermit who was worshipping a Vesperbild on the "Brudermannsfeld" near Bebelsheim. The statue of Mary was shot with arrows. The arrowheads remained stuck in the carved wooden figure. Blood flowed from the wounds, which Countess Elisabeth von Blieskastel used to moisten her diseased eyes and thus heal them. Out of gratitude, she had a monastery founded in nearby Gräfinthal and placed the Madonna there. During the dissolution of the Gräfinthal monastery in 1785/86, the Madonna of the Arrows was moved to the parish church in Blieskastel. In 1829, it was removed from the parish church and placed in the Holy Cross Chapel. Long shrouded and forgotten, the old Pietà was rediscovered at the beginning of 1911 and, after extensive restoration, was returned to the altar of the Holy Cross Chapel.
Kontakt
Adresse
Heilig-Kreuz-Kapelle
Klosterweg 35
66440 Blieskastel