Breadcrumb
St. Engelbert Church, St. Ingbert
Baroque church in the heart of St. Ingbert with an impressive façade, historic pulpit and 23-tone carillon. Highlight: on weekdays at 12 noon, the miners' song "Glück auf, Glück auf" rings out.
St. Engelbert's Church stands in the middle of St. Ingbert's pedestrian zone as an important landmark of the town. Built in 1755 at the instigation of the Counts of Leyen, it reflects the historical significance of St. Ingbert: coal was already being mined here in the 17th century, an iron smelter was established at the beginning of the 18th century, and for travellers from Saarbrücken, St. Ingbert was the first town in the county.
The church was placed at the apex of a slight bend in what was then Kaiserstraße, now a pedestrian zone. Its elaborately designed façade with the count's alliance coat of arms above the portal shows the stately claim of the building. Inside, the pulpit with reliefs of the four evangelists and the Baroque forms, which are still clearly visible here, are impressive.
The modern carillon with 23 bells deserves special attention. On weekdays at 12 noon, the traditional miners' song "Glück auf, Glück auf" (Good luck, good luck) is played, commemorating St. Ingbert's mining past. The free app-based audio tour "St. Ingbert City Tour" also passes directly by the church, offering visitors exciting insights into the history and present of the city.
Kontakt
Adresse
Kirche St. Engelbert
Kaiserstraße / Fußgängerzone
66386 Sankt Ingbert