Karlsbrunn hunting lodge and forest garden
Prince Ludwig of Nassau-Saarbrücken (reigned 1768–1793) had a simple three-winged hunting lodge built in Karlsbrunn between 1769 and 1786.
After changing hands following the French Revolution, the castle was sold to the Royal Prussian Forestry Service in 1842, became a forest district office, and remained under the control of the forestry administration until 2016.
Today, it is owned by the Warndt Regional Development Association. The forest garden behind the castle still serves as a reminder of the foresters of the 19th and 20th centuries, who planted exotic trees there and in the surrounding woods on an experimental basis to meet the industry’s growing demand for timber.
In the Cour d’honneur (castle courtyard), the charming central building catches the eye. A notable feature is the gatehouse, constructed of sandstone slabs, featuring a curved roof and a very narrow, tall entrance.
At the start of a hunt, the prince would appear on the staircase balcony, the sentries would salute, and hunting horns would sound in the courtyard to signal the departure. Despite many structural changes, the layout of the hunting lodge has been partially preserved.
Civil weddings in the newly designed banquet hall are possible.
Standesamtsbezirk Völklingen/Großrosseln
+ 49 68 98/13 23 09 (Marion Collmann)
+ 49 68 98/13 22 46 (Jillian Brehmer)
standesamt@voelklingen.de